Friday, September 30, 2022

    Bangladesh make history in SAFF Women’s Championship

    - Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

    Forward Krishna Rani Sarkar scored a
    brace as Bangladesh made history by winning the maiden title of 6th edition of
    SAFF Women’s Championship beating host Nepal by 3-1 goals in the final held
    today (Monday) at Dasharath Rangasala Stadium here.

    With this win, Bangladesh has also broken five time SAFF champions
    India’s one-sided dominance in the championship who were knocked out early by
    host Nepal in the semifinal.

    It was another stunning performance by the Sabina and Co. in the final
    following the winning consistency all through the tournament.

    Apart from Krishna Rani Sarkar two goals, substitute forward Shamsunnahar
    Jr supported her with a lone goal to give Bangladesh an early lead and
    eventually propel Bangladesh to win the SAFF title, breaking the hearts of
    the Nepalese who appeared their fifth finals since the championship started
    in 2010.

    Bangladesh girls passed the test of strength in title fight of the final.
    Both teams played enjoyable football throughout the match, but Nepal hardly
    failed to offer any resistance against Bangladesh in the game and finally
    Bangladesh created history by claiming the South Asian football’s supremacy.

    On a rain-soaked ground following heavy rain, substitute Shamsunnahar Jr.
    put the first blood for Bangladesh in the 14th minute with a superb top off a
    cross from Monika Chakma, four minutes after coming off the bench to replace
    experienced forward injured Sirat Jahan Swapna, who was earlier included in
    the best eleven ending all the speculation.

    Bangladesh further went ahead in the 42nd minute. This time Krishna Rani
    Sarkar brilliantly sent the ball to the net with a perfect left-footed

    placing shot from inside the box following a through-pass from her skipper
    Sabina Khatun.

    Bangladesh however came under pressure from Nepal after resumption. The
    hosts reduced the margin in the 69th minute courtesy’s of Anita’s lone goal.

    However, Krishna sealed the Bangladesh’s victory with another perfect
    finishing in the 77th minute, silencing the some twenty thousand local crowds
    in the big bowl.

    Bangladesh earlier blanked the Maldives by 3-0 in their group opening
    match and thrashed Pakistan 6-0 in their second match and defeated defending
    champions India by 3-0 goals to booked their spot of semifinal as the group A

    The girls in red and green confirmed their spot of semifinal after
    crushing Bhutan by 8-0 goals in the first semifinal.

    While earlier Nepal blanked Bhutan 4-0 in their group opening match and
    thrashed Sri Lanka 6-0 to secure semifinal as group B champions.

    After that, Nepal edged past holders India by 1-0 goal in the second
    semifinal to confirm their spot of final of the tournament.

    Bangladesh women’s team: Rupna Chakma, Etie Rani, Sathi Biswas, Masura
    Parvin, Mossammat Akhi Khatun, Shamsunnahar, Sheuli Azim, Nilufa Yesmin Nila,
    Anai Mogini, Maria Manda (vice-captain), Monika Chakma, Shamsunnahar, Sohagi
    Kisku, Sapna Rani, Ritu Porna Chakma, Sanjida Akhter, Marzia, Sabina Khatun
    (captain), Srimoti Krishnarani Sarkar, Mosammat Sirat Jahan Shopna, Tohura
    Khatun, Anuching Mogini and Sajeda Khatun.


    Latest news
    - Advertisement -spot_img
    Related news
    - Advertisement -spot_img

    একটি উত্তর ত্যাগ

    আপনার মন্তব্য লিখুন দয়া করে!
    এখানে আপনার নাম লিখুন দয়া করে